You may remember that I posted recently about my own drive to use as few and as natural beauty and hygiene products as possible, and I’m really happy with the way that has gone, despite taking a couple of years to put into place. I try to approach simple living in a way that does not impact on my family too much; I’ve come to realise that doing is generally far more effective than telling. With this in mind, I do try to make purchases for our daughter that are well-researched and intentional, based on the principles of as natural as possible, and as sustainable as possible – but at the same time not compromising on quality and ease of use. So when I was approached by a company who have developed child-friendly, non-toxic bath-time products, for once I was curious and happy to take a look.
Paddy’s Bathroom is a new brand created by the team that brought us Ella’s Kitchen – their new range of toiletries is certified organic and contains no SLS, no parabens, no pthalates, no sulphates and no GMO ingredients. They are super gentle and sting-free on little ones’ eyes.
For those reasons alone I was immediately interested. Finding good quality, affordable products for kids on the high street or in the supermarket is harder than you would think.

Leela was very excited to open the parcel, and the packaging was clearly recognisable – the first thing she said was “Ooh can I eat it Mummy? “ Hmm…
Cue a conversation about how this was shampoo/bubble bath and definitely NOT to be eaten/drank (and a minor panic from me as to where I would store it safely just in case). I can see why Paddy’s have chosen to mimic the Ella’s packaging – it was a fantastic selling point for the purees and smoothies, but it does mean that kids instantly associate it with edibles!

The full range of Paddy's Bathroom kids toiletries.

The full range of Paddy’s Bathroom kids toiletries.

Packaging issues aside (and concerns were only about the bubble bath and shiny hair shampoo) I can say that our family have all enjoyed these products. For a start they smell delicious, and Leela loves the foaming texture not only because it’s fun to play with, but also because she could have a go at washing her hair without the shampoo running into her eyes. It was good timing for encouraging independent hand washing too. The brightly coloured bottles are child-friendly, Leela got the hang of the hand pump bottles straight away, while the Squirty Stuff bottles are just the right side of tricky, ie not too easy to get into if you’re three and want to make some kind of George’s Marvellous Medicine while Mum isn’t looking…

Foaming shampoo! Leela loved it...

Foaming shampoo! Leela loved it…

My personal favourite is the squishy mangoes foaming hair and body wash – it just smells SO good, although all the products smell amazing. It retails at £4.49 which is probably more than I would usually pay, but at the same time it seems to last for AGES making it worth the investment in my opinion. I also like that I don’t have to faff around with a lid when hair washing, and on an eco note the bottles are all recycle grade 5 so should be ok to go in most kerbside recycling. In fact, that’s my other issue with the bubble bath pouches – they are a recycle grade 7 which is rarely recycled anywhere, and also contains BPA which I do my utmost to avoid these days. But, in Paddy’s favour – the lack of toxic substances in the product itself means that I would happily purchase the Squirty Stuff hair and body washes again, if only to watch Leela make her hair into a mohawk like her daddy’s…

Just like her Dad! Bathtime is officially fun.

Just like her Dad! Bathtime is officially fun.

For added fun, Paddy’s also have a funky webpage and an app with some cool kids games, and more importantly they also donate to the Drop Buy Drop programme with every purchase, which aims to help kids in Rwanda get access to clean safe water.

Disclaimer – I was sent the Paddy’s Bathroom range free of charge to try out for review purposes, however all thoughts and opinions of the product are my own.

